Marian Youngblood Speaks


I first encountered Marian through her website Siderealview’s Blog. I was impressed with her “stellar perspective” on our environment, our times and the coming times as predicted by the Mayan Calendar. Her gentle and practical approach (sans catastrophe, gloom and doom, and reactionary fear-based rhetoric) is refreshing and enlightening. I soon found out how many different venues Marian has used to express herself, and how prolific a writer she is. Marian has a lot to say, and a lot to share, so be sure to click on the various links we provide for you.

The KALEIDOSCOPE OF TIME –
Marian Youngblood

They keep telling us we are the ones we have been waiting for – it’s a Hopi saying that’s getting an airing right now. If I’d been told that as a child, I might have believed it – because one believes everything, as a child.

What is the most amazing thing to me in this experience called life, is that the person I was as a child is still the person I think I am now. Of course now my skin (and apparently other organs, cells, tissues) has recycled itself in multiples of seven times seven years, and more. My formative self has left childhood behind and entered life as an adult.

What is even more surprising to me is that I still feel the same inside as I did, as far as I remember, when I was seven. And at seven, the world is one’s oyster.

In a family surrounded by encouragement and literary example – my father was a self-styled diarist, although he had a ‘real job’ minding other people’s accounts – my sisters and I were constantly reminded of our need to ‘set an example’. My mother mused. She spent endless hours in the garden doing nothing in particular and yet her spirit was tangibly peaceful, and her favorite plants always flourished.

I feel as if I’ve lived several lives, though not in the sense of previous lifetimes. I mean in this same body. I have been blessed with a consecutive series of experiences and memories, each leading me to the next step. They’ve appeared and disappeared as I progressed into subsequent ‘incarnations’. I don’t really think of this as a ‘walk-in’ experience, although that’s not impossible. Rather that I have been given a series of roles to play, each in succession leading me towards another arc in the learning curve. So, although I qualified as a linguist, it was my typing course that led me to become a journalist and my journalism took me from newspapers into television and out into the wider world.

If there had been computers in 1969 when I quit my job in San Francisco (all they wanted me to do was interview Vietnam vets without limbs), I probably would have kept a blog then. As it turned out I had to stop writing for a while; I hit what I can only describe as the Wall. Like many at the time, the Herbal Revolution took me to places no wo/man had gone before and, as we all did, I embraced it with vigor. I do wish I had blogged about it, because, unlike my predecessor on this column (A Visit with a Sirian) who disproved the adage ‘if you remember, you weren’t there,’ I truly have only snatches of memory from that remarkable time. But it changed me and catapulted me into my next incarnation: one I believe I still inhabit.

I spent three years in Northern California after being reborn; living the organic life that so many of us did then, tending a garden, growing-my-own, playing music, being ‘free’. Sure, I kept diaries and journals, but writing was not my foremost occupation. I was tending my soul.

In California in the early ’70s there were always people who taught the latest meditation technique, to practice a silent fast with, to clear and activate your chakras. Everybody who needed to be there WAS there at that time. The world’s greatest musicians, poets, philosophers, gurus and spiritual leaders all passed through. It was a melting pot of those ‘we have been waiting for’. We actually did change the world. It just took another forty years for the effects to filter through.

Soul does indeed need time to mature. Many of the ancient spiritual disciplines talk of growth through several lifetimes; to go back to the drawing board and learn your lessons again.

I did have to return to my old haunts, possibly to relive lessons learned but also to put them into practice in the world of my fore-fathers. It may be genetic, or perhaps the fact that America in the late ’70s and ’80s became a harder place to live – at least on a Green Card. I’d never given up my British citizenship and life in Britain has claimed me for a few years now. After all, I found a place to live a quiet life, grow my veggies, nurture my child, my cats and my chickens in peace, learn the art of photography with my father’s old cameras; all without having to watch out for Immigration or traffic tickets or worse. More than that, my Scots’ past grabbed me. I found I needed family, and people, a heritage that needed me – to broadcast its deep connection and write about it.

The literary world claimed me once again. But more important, those years of nurturing a child, of filling days and nights with another life that takes precedence over one’s own. Those were times of great change: another incarnation.

It is years on, and my son now lives in Northern California. He has his own children and I find the frailest of reasons to visit – all the time.

Finally, after researching, co-founding and releasing a charitable group that brought public awareness to the plight of our most ancient heritage – carved stones and circles – and simultaneously the electromagnetic and astronomical environment in which they stand, I discovered the magic of the blog.

While my writing skills were regularly oiled through publication of stoney newsletters, it was a relief, a blessing to be able to upload them as electrons; to erase the necessity of chopping down more trees and using more postage stamps. The Stones Archives went online.

 I didn’t abandon paper completely, however. I published a small history, wrote innumerable stoney articles for magazines, took a million photographs (digital this time; no longer old SLR beauties) and became a Mac-addict. Just in time for the advent of the internet – and the blog.

My Muse keeps me at it. I wrote my ultimate spiritual novel,  ‘SHASTA: Critical Mass’ in 2008, a NaNoWriMo novel in the month of November last year and a ViNoWriMo in 31 days in January 2010.

While I love my blogs, blogging isn’t as addictive for me as it is for some: there are those who blog daily and get awards for such prolific output. But I find my occasional postings – from crop circles to spiritual insights, to seasonal weather and traditions, and a few other extraneous subjects besides – satisfy my childhood longings, fill those crevices and crannies triggered by my Muse. She allows me to express all those incarnations that brought me to this moment and still leaves me time to ponder other things: gardening, naturally, growing my inner spirit, and my soul’s ‘place’ in these exciting times.

There is truly something about these present times that integrates our past or puts it behind us. Blessed indeed are those young souls who incarnate and choose to enter this New World. They’ve always been the leaders. We oldies may be the ones we have been waiting for, but they – the children – are the ones who will see us through.

©2010 Marian Youngblood

You can find Marian Youngblood in the following places:

FOGS Blog
Youngblood’s Blog
Siderealview’s Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Marian Youngblood Speaks”

  1. kether1985 Says:

    You certainly attract some awesome people pete 😉

    Hope all is awesome!

  2. kether1985 Says:

    yeah just did! I had to leave a comment on her newest post. Pretty epic!

Leave a Reply

